Aung San Suu Kyi (Burmese: Image:AungSanSuuKyi1.png; MLCTS: aung hcan: cu. krany; IPA: [àuɴ sʰáɴ sṵ tʃì][6]); born 19 June 1945 in Yangon (Rangoon), is a pro-democracy activist and leader of the National League for Democracy in Myanmar (Burma), and a noted prisoner of conscience and advocate of nonviolent resistance. A Buddhist, Suu Kyi won the Rafto Prize and the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought in 1990 and in 1991 was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize and in 1992 she was awarded the prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru peace price of Government of India for her peaceful and non-violent struggle under a military dictatorship. She is currently under detention, with the Myanmar government repeatedly extending her detention. According to the results of the 1990 general election, Suu Kyi earned the right to be Prime Minister, as leader of the winning National League for Democracy party, but her detention by the military junta prevented her from assuming that role.

Future 5000 Kyat Note